LibGuides: Antiracism Resource Guide: Arts and History

Photography

Racial Microaggressions, December 2013.

The Racial Microaggressions photo series can be incorporated into various courses and workshops. The photos were taken at Fordham University at Lincoln Center in New York, and all subjects in the series are then-students of Fordham University.

Usage terms: This series is free to use for personal/non-commercial use with proper credit (full name + link to website). You may NOT repost these on Tumblr, Twitter, Facebook, or other social media without the credit clearly displayed.

Portraying the Black American Experience: Playlist from Art21
The artists in this playlist expand and illuminate the conversations we have around bias, race, and representation.
Google Arts & Culture series on race and contemporary art
Incorporate examples of art and culture from around the world into your courses and workshops. There are many racial-related works from history and slavery to stereotypes and bias.

Dance

We. Dance. Spoken word and video from Alvin Ailey American Dance Theater
This performing arts community incorporates the beauty and humanity of African-American heritage and other cultures to unite people of all races, ages and backgrounds.
Ayodele Casel’s Diary of a Tap Dancer V.6: Us.
Ayodele Casel noted that Diary of a Tap Dancer is predicated on the belief that by revealing stories, we expose our shared humanity and provide a deeper understanding of how our life experience moves the dance. You can watch two short performance videos at this site.

History

National Museum of African American History and Culture digital resource guide
Includes videos, virtual exhibits, publications and guides for discussing African American history, culture, and museum collections. Also includes a web portal to guide talking about race.
National Archives African American History Resources
The Archives holds a wealth of material documenting the African American experience and highlights these resources online, in programs, and through traditional and social media.
The National Library of Medicine
An extensive collection of research materials on Africans American in science, medicine, and the health professions. This material includes a comprehensive list of books with autobiographies and biographies of leading African American physicians, scientists, and nurses. There are also historical studies on black professional organizations, medical schools, hospitals, and the delivery of care to African Americans from the antebellum period through to the present. The NLM's extensive on-line collection of prints and photographs includes images of African American doctors, dentists, nurses, and nurse-midwives.
The Smithsonian
158 Resources to understanding racism in America by Meilan Solly. A web-based resource page featuring articles,collections, websites, videos and podcasts from the Smithsonian to chronicle the history of Anti-Black violence and inequality in the United States.
Juneteenth | National Museum of African American History and Culture
The National Museum of African American History & Culture provides a website portal to information and resources about Juneteenth, including videos, archival photos, narrative texts, and event information related to this federal holiday. It also links to the Juneteenth Digital Toolkit and Juneteenth Reading List.