LibGuides: Antiracism Resource Guide: OSU Resources and Services

OSU Diversity Resources

OSU Wexner Medical Center

OSU Campus

Kirwan Institute for the Study of Race and Ethnicity
An interdisciplinary research institute at The Ohio State University established in May 2003. It was named for former university president William E. “Brit” Kirwan in recognition of his efforts to champion diversity at OSU. The Kirwan Institute goal is to connect individuals and communities with opportunities needed for thriving by educating the public, building the capacity of allied social justice organizations, and investing in efforts that support equity and inclusion.
OSU Office of Diversity and Inclusion
ODI supports the recruitment, retention and success of students, faculty and staff who enhance the diversity of The Ohio State University.
The Carmen Collection
An archival collection created by the OSU archives to share lost stories or stories can inspire a new generation or high achievers, pioneers, students and graduates.
more...less...
For questions about the collection: https://carmencollection.osu.edu/contact
Respectful Dialogue Toolkit
A collaboration between the Office of
Diversity and Inclusion and the Michael V. Drake Institute for Teaching and Learning. This toolkit defines respectful dialogue, identifies goals for faculty, staff, and students, provides strategies, and shares additional resources and supports.

HSL Resources

PubMed Search Strategies on Anti-Racism

(("anti-racism"[tw] OR anti-racism[tw] OR anti racism[tw] OR antiracism[tw])) OR ((prejudice[tw] OR prejudices[tw]))) OR ("Prejudice"[Mesh])) OR ((Racial Bias[tw] OR Bias, Racial[tw] OR Racial Prejudice[tw] OR Prejudice, Racial[tw] OR Prejudices, Racial[tw] OR Racial Prejudices[tw] OR Racial Discrimination[tw] OR Discrimination, Racial[tw] OR Discriminations, Racial[tw] OR Racial Discriminations[tw] OR Covert Racism[tw] OR Covert Racisms[tw] OR Racism, Covert[tw] OR Racisms, Covert[tw]))) OR ("Racism"[Mesh] OR "systematic racism"[tw] OR "institutional racism"[tw]))

You can use this search strategy in PubMed by itself to find articles about antiracism or racism or you can add more terms on other topics of interest. For example:

Search Strategy developed by Kerry Dhakal, dhakal.9@osu.edu

Selected Journal Titles

Journal of Race & Policy

Ethic and Racial Studies

Medical Anthropology: Cross Cultural Studies in Health and Illness

Journal of Transcultural Nursing

Datasets

A Guide to Black Lives Matter Data

This resource provides an extensive list of datasets, websites and organizations collecting and sharing data concerning the Black Lives Matter movement. It was developed by Holly Davis, Research Commons Services Coordinator, and Leta Hendricks, African American and African Studies Librarian, The Ohio State University Libraries).

World Health Data Platform - Health Equity

These data are provided by the Global Health Observatory program at the World Health Organization (WHO). Data products include country profiles, statistical codes and a compendium of indicator definitions as well as publications about WHO findings on Health Equity.

Center for Disease Control and Prevention (CDC) Data Catalog

This website provides access to many of the datasets created by or collected by the CDC. You can search for data by name or keyword. Searching for the keyword 'race' resulted in 150 available datasets. Searching for 'ethnicity' resulted in 94 available datasets.

Selected Databases

Visual Dx

Visual Dx or Diagnosis is a database licensed to the Health Sciences Library that can be found on the HSL homepage under Top Resources. This database provides visual guides and images to help clinicians diagnosis patients. It also has a differential diagnosis tool that helps clinicians narrow possible diagnoses based on patient presentation of symptoms. Images are provided for each diagnosis and there is a Skin Pigmentation tool available for some of the diagnostic images to aid clinicians in identifying disease and its presentation on different colors of skin.

History of ODI for College of Medicine

Women in Medicine (WIMS) Newsletter
The mission of WIMS is to promote equity, advancement, and retention of women-identifying and marginalized or minoritized gender faculty within the College of Medicine at The Ohio State University by cultivating awareness, advocating for change, enriching the broad academic culture, and empowering faculty to achieve professional fulfillment and success. The newsletter provides information about accomplishments, events, activities, and information for women in medicine at OSU.
The Ohio State University Office of Diversity Initiatives newsletter request form
The OSU Office of Diversity and Inclusion has the vision to be the nation's premier leader and model for diversity, equity and inclusion in higher education and broader society. The newsletter provides information on upcoming events, activities, programs and resources from the Office of Diversity Initiatives.
The Group on Diversity and Inclusion (GDI)
The Group on Diversity and Inclusion (GDI) supports the efforts of AAMC-member institutions and academic medicine to realize the benefits of diversity and inclusion in medicine and biomedical sciences. Information from the GDI include resources such as guides, toolkits and webinars; initiatives information, data, reports and event information.
ACGME Equity MattersTM Equity Practice Toolkit
According to the AAMC website, “the ACGME Equity Matters toolkit is designed to empower stakeholders with the tools necessary to achieve or enhance cultures of equity. These actionable tools support programs, institutions, and organizations on "how" to achieve equity, meaningfully and sustainably.” (AAMC log-in required)
ACGME Equity MattersTM program
According to the ACGME website, “the ACGME Equity MattersTM program supports the GME community in developing innovative resources that increase workforce diversity, encourage adoption of equity practices, and foster inclusive learning environments.” For additional information about this program, you can contact: diversity@acgme.org.