LibGuides: DEIA Resource Guide: Tool Kits and Packages

Anti-racism in Medicine

Association of American Medical Colleges: Racism and Health
The AAMC has curated a collection of articles and resources to assist institutions, constituents, and the public in learning more about the complex issues and strategies to combat racism and make health care more diverse, equitable, and inclusive.
MedEdPORTAL: Anti-racism in Medicine Collection
The new Anti-racism in Medicine Collection provides educators with practice-based, peer-reviewed resources to teach anti-racist knowledge and clinical skills.
Building a Tool Kit for Medical and Dental Students: Addressing Microaggressions and Discrimination on the Wards
Aimed at preclinical medical and dental students, this workshop is designed to help students recognize and respond to microaggressions in clinical practice. Includes facilitator guides, case examples, and other workshop materials.
Health Equity Rounds: An Interdisciplinary Case Conference to Address Implicit Bias and Structural Racism for Faculty and Trainees
The Health Equity Rounds (HER) program serves as a forum for practitioners across training levels to address structural racism and implicit bias. HER could serve as a component of larger, multifaceted efforts to decrease structural racism and implicit bias in health care.

Health Equity Assessment Tool (HEAT)

The World Health Organization has developed a software tool that helps researchers, faculty and students explore and compare health inequalities in different countries. You can read more about application of this tool in the following article:

Hosseinpoor, A.R., Nambiar, D., Schlotheuber, A. et al. Health Equity Assessment Toolkit (HEAT): software for exploring and comparing health inequalities in countries. BMC Med Res Methodol 16, 141 (2016). https://doi.org/10.1186/s12874-016-0229-9 https://bmcmedresmethodol.biomedcentral.com/articles/10.1186/s12874-016-0229-9

Additional Tool Kits

Association of American Medical Colleges: Diversity and Inclusion Toolkit Resources
The AAMC has curated a collection of articles and online resources to assist our member institutions, constituents, and the public in learning more about and exploring the complex issues surrounding DEIA and make health care more diverse, equitable, and inclusive. This collection will be updated on a regular basis.
AAWU Diversity, Equity & Inclusion Toolkit
"AAUW is dedicated to helping members become more comfortable sharing their perspectives outside of diversity trainings and to address diversity, equity and inclusion (DEI) in all aspects of their work and lives. We seek to encourage ongoing dialogue that will inspire all members to bring these values to their personal and professional interactions. Within AAUW, our goal is to turn these conversations into actionable goals and strategies for each branch."
Brown University Diversity and Inclusion Toolkit
The Diversity and Inclusion Toolkit has been created to identify best practices for promoting diversity and inclusion at Brown. The toolkit provides guidelines for demonstrating an understanding of compliance, cultural awareness, respect for differences, and coaching for positive change towards inclusive practices for all identities.
Anti-Defamation League: Engaging Young People in Conversations about Race and Racism
The ADL offers helpful suggestions and strategies for having classroom conversations with young people about race and racism. These are resources that could be used with variety of college-age students.
University of Connecticut: Teaching About Racism in the Context of Persistent Health and Healthcare Disparities
This toolkit aims to explore how to teach how to reduce health care disparities. Discussions have focused on race and racism but include a larger dialogue on bias, identity, intersectionality, and privilege.
American Psychological Association: Facing the Divide: Psychology’s Conversation on Race and Health
This guide is designed to help educators and structure group discussions and model ways to
engage in difficult but productive conversations about race and prejudice.
National Museum of African American History and Culture: Talking about Race
The section for educators has tips and resources that can be used for faculty in higher education as well as those teaching younger children. This group offers resources on all aspects of racism and inequality.
American Council on Education: Race and Ethnicity in Higher Education
This report and related pod casts, essays, videos and more provides a foundation for drawing insights, raising new questions, and making the case for why race and ethnicity matter in American higher education.
Respectful Dialogue Toolkit
This toolkit defines respectful dialogue, identifies goals for faculty, staff, and students, provides strategies, and shares additional resources and supports.
CUPA HR-Resources for Diversity, Equity and Inclusion
The College and University Professional Association for Human Resources has compiled resources regarding "Advancing Racial Equity on Campus" and "Cultivating Diversity, Equity and Inclusion."