It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.
The National Agricultural Library provides informational resources to land-grant colleges and universities, and other state-supported colleges and universities with academic programs relating to agriculture. Thus, the agricultural disciplines covered in AGRICOLA are quite extensive. Disciplines covered include food and human nutrition, agricultural engineering and technology, earth and environmental sciences and more.
CAB Abstracts gives researchers access to over 8.9 million records from 1973 onwards in the areas of agriculture, environment, veterinary sciences, applied economics, food science, nutrition, and other life sciences.
Global Health (available as part of the CABI Database through Web of Science) is a bibliographic database which focuses on research literature in public health and medical health sciences. Derived from over 7,000 journals, reports, books and conferences, Global Health contains over 2.5* million scientific records from 1973 to the present. Publications from over 100 countries in 50 languages are abstracted, and all relevant non-English-language papers are translated to give access to research not available through any other database. Proceedings, patents, thesis papers, electronic publications and relevant but difficult-to-find literature sources are also part of this database.
The Model Practices Program honors and recognizes local public health practice and promotes the sharing of these outstanding practices among local health departments. You may access these findings and past awards through this database.
Provided by the US National Library of Medicine, PubMed is a freely available database containing more than 26 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life sciences journals, and online books.
Scopus is an abstract and citation database of research literature and quality web sources in the medical, scientific, technical, social sciences, and arts and humanities fields. Scopus covers nearly 18,000 titles from more than 5,000 publishers, and more half of its content comes from outside the U.S. The database provides powerful citation analysis tools for articles, authors, institutions, and journal metrics.
Access the Science Citation Index, Social Science Citation Index and more through the Web of Science Core Collection. Covers multidisciplinary subjects, including the sciences, social sciences, arts and humanities, and more than 12,000 journals. Also includes citations to conference proceedings.
Publishes original articles and review articles in all fields of animal and poultry science: genetics and breeding, genetic engineering, reproduction, embryo manipulation, nutrition, feeds and feeding, physiology, anatomy, environment and behavior, animal products (milk, meat, eggs and their by-products) and their processing, and livestock economics.
Canine Genetics and Epidemiology is a peer-reviewed, open access journal addressing genetic, genomic and epidemiological research in both domestic and wild canids, relating to breed and species diversity, and canine evolution.
Devoted to the publication of definitive studies including original papers, short communications and review articles, on human health sciences related to biological, physical, chemical, medical, psychosocial, and other various environmental factors.
The Morbidity and Mortality Weekly Report is published by the Centers for Disease Control and Prevention. The journal is the agency’s primary source of scientific publication for public health information and recommendations.
Promotes experimental or other research work on diagnosis and control of contagious diseases of livestock. Also includes documents of importance to Chief Veterinary Officers of 155 member countries and to the world medical and veterinary scientific communities.
This book series focuses on current progress in the broad field of medical microbiology, and covers both basic and applied topics related to the study of microbes, their interactions with human and animals, and emerging issues relevant for public health. Original research and review articles present and discuss multidisciplinary findings and developments on various aspects of microbiology, infectious diseases, and their diagnosis, treatment and prevention.
The importance of food safety for human health has been widely recognized. The safety of foods of animal origin is particularly relevant because the large majority of foodborne diseases come from poultry, eggs, meat, milk and dairy products and fish. This textbook covers an integrated approach to this type of food production, hygiene and safety and shows how it results in concurrent benefits to animal well being, human health, protection of the environment and socioeconomics.
This book gathers contributions by 39 international specialists on well-known but neglected mosquito-borne diseases. The authors highlight pathogens that are increasingly being spread worldwide by various mosquito species, a situation worsened further by migration and tourism.
Food Safety in the 21st Century: Public Health Perspective is an important reference for anyone currently working in the food industry or those entering the industry. It provides realistic, practical, and very usable information about key aspects of food safety, while also systematically approaching the matter of foodborne illness by addressing the intricacies of both prevention and control.
The One Health concept of combined veterinary and human health continues to gain momentum, but the supporting literature is sparse. In this book, the origins of the concept are examined and practical content on methodological tools, data gathering, monitoring techniques, study designs, and mathematical models is included.
One Health is an emerging concept that aims to bring together human, animal, and environmental health. Achieving harmonized approaches for disease detection and prevention is difficult because traditional boundaries of medical and veterinary practice must be crossed.
This essential, authoritative handbook provides clear, accurate coverage of zoonoses - diseases that can spread from animals to humans. The consistent format helps you quickly locate key information, such as how each disease affects the host, how it is spread, how it is treated, and necessary safety precautions. It also discusses the importance of educating animal owners about the public health implications of zoonoses and how to prevent them from spreading.
The book will cover the most important zoonoses with a public health impact and debate actual developments in this field from a One Health perspective. The outline of the book follows a "setting" approach, i.e. special settings of zoonoses with a public health aspect, rather than presenting a simple textbook of an encyclopedic character.
CFSAN, in conjunction with the Agency's field staff, is responsible for promoting and protecting the public's health by ensuring that the nation's food supply is safe, sanitary, wholesome, and honestly labeled, and that cosmetic products are safe and properly labeled.
The mission statement for FDA’s Center for Veterinary Medicine (CVM) reads: “Protecting Human and Animal Health.” The center approves animal drugs for companion (pet) animals, such as dogs, cats, and horses; and for food-producing animals, such as cattle, pigs, and chickens.
The Animal and Plant Health Inspection Service protects and promotes U.S. agricultural health, regulating genetically engineered organisms, administering the Animal Welfare Act and carrying out wildlife damage management activities.