Skip to main content
It looks like you're using Internet Explorer 11 or older. This website works best with modern browsers such as the latest versions of Chrome, Firefox, Safari, and Edge. If you continue with this browser, you may see unexpected results.

OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

Health Sciences Library

OSU Extension

This guide is for Family & Consumer Sciences county extension agents.

Library Resources To Support Your Research

OSU Extension has identified health and wellness as an Impact Area. Looking for evidence-based resources to help you do professional research in this area? This page will get you started. Contact us for further help.

The Food, Agricultural, and Environmental Sciences Library & Student Success Center (FAES Library & SSC) has created a library resources and services guide for Extension professionals.

E-magazines and Newsletters

Consumer Health Databases

Off-campus sign in is required for use of the following databases:

Sign in is required from off-campus.

Consumer Health Complete - Full-text database contains encyclopedias, reference books, journals and magazines as well as anatomy images and videos.

Health Source: Consumer Edition - Full-text database contains consumer health magazines, patient education handouts, medical dictionary and health reference books.

AltHealthWatch - Integrative medicine (alternative and complementary) database contains full-text articles in more than 180 international, and often peer-reviewed, journals and reports.

Natural & Alternative Treatments - Evidence-based database contains reports and articles on medical conditions, herbs, dietary supplements, drug interactions, and alternative treatments and homeopathy.

Other Health Sciences databases are here.

Online Books @ OSU

If you are off campus, use the Off Campus Sign-In for access.  The sign-in link is located in the banner above each of these resources.