Skip to main content

OSU Navigation Bar

The Ohio State University

Health Sciences Library

Genetic Counseling

A collection of relevant sources for genetics counselors and genetics counseling students.

Background Information

When you need to get familiar with a topic before doing more in-depth research, background information can be very helpful. Background information is typically found in places like books (both in print and electronic versions), web sites, review articles, and some special databases we refer to as "point of care" databases.

Below you will find links to some of the most useful background sources.

Background/Quick Answer Databases

UpToDate

Designed to provide practical, concise information needed at the point of care. Used by many clinicians, an excellent starting point for understanding many conditions. Well referenced, although does not overtly level evidence. Includes expert opinion in many of the topics.

Micromedex

This database package offers comprehensive, reviewed and evaluated drug information resources in the areas of pharmacology, reproductive risk, complementary and alternative medicine, chemical safety, and patient education.

ClinicalKey

Contains a variety of content, including journal article citations from Medline, books, and other more concise information (First Consult, Procedures Consult). Very rich electronic book collection.

Resources to Consider

UpToDate

Designed to provide practical, concise information needed at the point of care. Used by many clinicians, an excellent starting point for understanding many conditions. Well referenced, although does not overtly level evidence. Includes expert opinion in many of the topics.

ClinicalKey

Contains a variety of content, including journal article citations from Medline, books, and other more concise information (First Consult, Procedures Consult). Very rich electronic book collection.

eBooks

eBooks

Thousands of eBooks available through the library are accessible through the web browser of your desktop, laptop, or mobile device.  You can find records for all eBooks available through the OSU Libraries in the Library Catalog.  You can also access many subject specific eBooks in publisher collections and databases.

Finding eBooks in the Library Catalog

You can limit your search to eBooks in the Library Catalog by selecting “E-books” from the dropdown menu shown below.  The Library Catalog provides links to thousands of eBooks on nearly any topic.  Search options include keyword, author, title, subject and more. You can also easily search the OSU Library Catalog by selecting "catalog" from the quick search tool on the right-hand side of the navigation bar above and selecting "E-books" from the dropdown menu.
 

 

Finding eBooks in Publisher Collections and Databases

The Health Sciences Library provides access to thousands of eBooks that are part of publisher collections or databases.  These resources often include additional content beyond the eBooks they contain.  This may include drug resources, patient handouts, test prep materials, images, videos, and more.  The resources listed below represent a few of the most popular sources for Health Sciences eBook content.  You can access them by clicking on the logos below or through our Databases page.  The individual eBook titles contained within each database can also be found in the Library Catalog.

Core25 Books Provides quick and easy access to 25 popular eBooks covering most internal medicine topics as well as medical dictionaries and drug information sources.
Access more than 1,000 health sciences reference books including Netter's Atlas of Human Anatomy, Cecil Medicine and Nelson Textbook of Pediatrics.
McGraw Hill’s Access databases provide access to more than 100 leading medical titles including Harrison’s Principles of Internal Medicine and Williams ObstetricsAccessEmergencyMedicine, AccessSurgery, and AccessPharmacy are also available.
  Provides access to electronic versions of AHFS Drug InformationStedman’s Medical Dictionary, and more.
  The OhioLINK Electronic Book Center includes over 45,000 scholarly and reference eBooks on a variety of topics including nearly 3,000 in the health sciences.
  Provides access to over 20,000 technology, creative and business books, training videos and expert reference and learning materials.